BST Time Now

British Summer Time Now

British Summer Time, abbreviated as BST is 1 hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). It is mostly used in Europe and it is a Daylight Saving Time Zone.

Some regions in the winter always switch to the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), which is the corresponding time zone. There are territories or countries that will use GMT in the winter and BST in the summer. They include Jersey, Isle of Man and Guernsey. Other main islands in the United Kingdom that incorporate the same trend include Wales, England, Northern Ireland and Scotland.

This time zone was first established after William Willett's campaign included in the Summer Time Act 1916. The original proposition of Willet was to shift the clocks forward by 80 minutes on Sundays in April by 20-minute weekly steps. The reverse procedure would then be applied in September. Although his plans were not implemented, a few changes were made over the next years to come up with a standard British Summer Time.

The applicability of BST has been one of the subjects of parliamentary debate because of the Britain's longitudinal length. GMT has been favored all year round in reforming the British Summer Time. The time zones have been changed so that there is more daylight in the evenings compared to morning (from UTC +0 to UTC +1).